To Blog or Not to Blog – Is That The Question?

Photo courtesy smarnad at freedigitalphotos.net

It’s been fun creating this blog and filling it with content. But I am now at a bittersweet crossroad.  Should I continue blogging? Should I continue blogging on this topic? Until I started this blog, I never thought that would ever be a question that I would ask myself.

If I choose not to continue, I will have a bit more time on my hands to sleep, play Barbie with my daughter (she is convinced that I am always “doing work” on the computer and doesn’t have time for her), get some more outdoor exercise (I can maybe ditch the waist trainer) and my husband will see more of me at nights (always a good thing).

If I don’t, my heart will be yearning for an activity that I thoroughly enjoyed over the past few weeks. I will certainly have withdrawal symptoms!

The crux of the matter is, I remain undecided, but increasingly leaning toward continuing this journey.

Social media, and its many benefits to businesses, is an interesting and consuming phenomenon.  Staying abreast of the constantly moving parts is a yeoman’s task.  But when you get it and watch the engine power your project, it is well worth the effort. The laggards seem to be entrepreneurs and really small businesses (20 persons or less), for any number of reasons.

If I  do continue to maintain this blog, here are some things that I will do differently to harness the power of not blogging, but social media in general:

  1. With the absence of a captive audience, I will do a lot more to grow my readership and foster greater engagement
  2. I will write a strong, specific, short and clear mission statement for my blog to keep me on track and focused on related, relevant content.
  3. I will seek additional avenues to promote my blog, besides the ones that I have used to date: Facebook, Twitter, Linkedin, Pinterest, Google +, The Networking Effect, and several Google + communities of which I am a part.
  4. And lastly, I will continue to keep abreast of the moving parts that is social media and learn how to incorporate them into strategies that power my projects to yield measurable results.

Are you committed to blogging and social media?

Happy Reading!

4 thoughts on “To Blog or Not to Blog – Is That The Question?

Leave a Reply

